Become a Technology Professional

CTIN now merged with Engineering Technology Canada

You have been redirected from CTIN to the new Engineering Technology Canada website. This expanded platform provides all the information previously found in the CTIN site combined with new tools to support your information needs on becoming a Technology Professional in Canada.

 

CTIN site

Working in Canada

Technicians and technologists may achieve professional recognition through certification and registration by provincial associations in each of Canada's provinces. 

A wide variety of occupations fall under the classifications of technologist and technician in Canada. It is important for you to understand how your credentials and experience compare to workers in Canada. For example, internationally trained individuals may work as an engineer in their home country, but may find that their occupation is classified as a technician or technologist in Canada.

Canada has two official languages: English and French. Depending on where you decide to live, you might be required to work in English, French, or in both languages. Become familiar with the requirements for your occupation in the province where you want to work. Specific occupations and different provinces will have slightly different processes for certification. Provincial requirements for certification usually include a language assessment, evaluation of academic credentials and work experience and a professional practice examination.

Canadian quick facts

Canada has 10 provincial technology associations that offer certification. There is one technology professional association in each province.

Certification in Canada is transferable between provinces. Once certified, transferring your registration to a technology professional association in another province is a simple process. 

There are over 50,000 certified technology professionals in Canada. Certification is widely recognized and preferred by employers.

DEVENIR UN PROFESSIONNEL DE LA TECHNOLOGIE

Le RCIQT a fusionné avec Engineering Technology Canada

Vous avez été redirigé depuis le site du RCIQT vers le nouveau site Web Engineering Technology Canada. Cette plateforme plus vaste contient toutes les informations précédemment accessibles sur le site Web du RCIQT, ainsi que de nouveaux outils pour vous aider à devenir professionnel de la technologie au Canada.

 

CTIN site

Travailler au Canada

Les techniciens et les technologues peuvent accéder à la reconnaissance professionnelle par le biais de la certification et de l’agrément accordés par les associations provinciales dans chacune des provinces canadiennes. 

Une grande variété de professions tombent dans la classe de technologues et de techniciens au Canada. Il est important que vous compreniez comment vos qualifications et votre expérience se comparent à celles des travailleurs canadiens. Par exemple, les personnes formées à l’étranger peuvent travailler comme ingénieur dans leur pays d’origine, mais trouver que leur profession est classée comme technicien ou technologue au Canada.

Le Canada a deux langues officielles : l’anglais et le français. En fonction de l’endroit où vous décidez d’habiter, il est possible qu’on vous demande de travailler en anglais, en français ou dans les deux langues. Familiarisez-vous avec les exigences de votre profession dans la province où vous souhaitez travailler. Des professions spécifiques et des provinces différentes auront des procédures d’agrément légèrement différentes. Les exigences provinciales en matière d’agrément comprennent généralement une évaluation linguistique, une évaluation des attestations d’études et de l’expérience professionnelles, ainsi qu’un examen sur l’exercice de la profession.

Faits rapides sur le Canada

Le Canada possède 10 associations techniques provinciales qui offrent l’agrément. Il existe seulement une association professionnelle de technologie dans chaque province.

L’agrément au Canada est transférable entre les provinces. Une fois agréé, il est simple de transférer votre inscription à une association professionnelle de technologie d’une autre province. 

Il y a plus de 50 000 professionnels de la technologie agréés au Canada. L’agrément est très largement reconnu et les employeurs le préfèrent.